Ivy Alvarez is a selected mentor for one of the 2018 recipients for the New Zealand Society of Authors’ Youth Mentorship programme.

The 2018 recipients for the NZSA Youth Mentorship programme are Xiaole Zhan from Westlake Girls High School in Auckland, Elise Sadlier from Gisborne Girls’ High School, Anthony Pita from Rosmini College in Auckland, and Cybella Maffitt from St Cuthberts College in Auckland. They will work on their writing projects under the guidance of Karyn Hay, Sue Wootton, Anna Mackenzie, and Ivy Alvarez.